Page 1 of 2

[debunked] bunker.co.uk New mystery

Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 11:56 pm
by Radiobuzz
mdg has pointed to this new address:

http://www.bunker.org.uk/

I'm asuming his nickname is protected on IRC and requires a login, and is therefore not a poser. What do you think? Are they releasing a track to preview?

EDIT: A whois lookup reveals the following:

Registrant:
AuthorDocs Limited

Trading as:
Brian Curd

Registrant type:
Other UK Entity (e.g. clubs, associations, many universities)

Registrant's address:
35 Forest Road
Sandown
Isle of Wight
PO36 0JY
United Kingdom

Registrar:
Heart Internet Ltd t/a Heart Internet [Tag = HEARTINTERNET]
URL: http://www.heartinternet.co.uk

Relevant dates:
Registered on: 01-Jun-1999
Expiry date: 01-Jun-2013
Last updated: 30-Jun-2012

Registration status:
Registered until expiry date.

Name servers:
ns.mainnameserver.com
ns2.mainnameserver.com

WHOIS lookup made at 00:58:53 09-May-2013

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 12:01 am
by Ottomatik
What if someone just replicated the original script from cosecha-transmisiones.com and launched this bunker.org.uk website? Is this technically possible? I really wonder why this address doesn't have the usual Hexagon Sun whois.

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 12:03 am
by thepastinsidepressant
i posted that on the 'who is domain' thread too but someone found that already 2 days ago and posted here. i thought i found something new but...
i tried to log in but it seems like its just the company behind the design or something, OP also suggested Echelon .
i dunno, i doubt its going to be used for anything boc

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 12:04 am
by Keeoaddi
scotland's secret bunker?

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 12:05 am
by Radiobuzz
Ottomatik wrote:What if someone just replicated the original script from cosecha-transmisiones.com and launched this bunker.org.uk website? Is this technically possible? I really wonder why this address doesn't have the usual Hexagon Sun whois.


Yes, that is indeed possible.

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 12:09 am
by thepastinsidepressant
ah here, it was Twoist who found it yesterday on the The 6-number sequence as it stands thread.

"All this talk of nuclear hilarity is intriguing.

Has anyone visited http://www.bunker.org.uk ? Looks familiar, yeah?

The WHOIS points to 'Echelon Systems'. Not that it gives anything away, but I'm assuming this is the design company who came up with the VMS login idea."

Re: bunker.co.uk New mystery

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 12:11 am
by Mr Sheep
Radiobuzz wrote:mdg has pointed to this new address:

http://www.bunker.org.uk/



I'm confused, where did he point this out? I can't see it in his posts. Was it on watmm? Or did he delete it? Sorry if I'm being a div.

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 12:14 am
by Radiobuzz
User modman said here that mdg said so on IRC, however I have just logon to the chat (assuming is on EFnet) and 'mdg' is not password protected so it is probably just a fake. Sorry!

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 12:24 am
by Ender
Here's the log:

[19:35:02] mdg!2e077d73@gateway/web/freenode/ip.46.7.125.115 joined
<mdg> [19:35:31] http://www.bunker.org.uk
[19:35:51] mdg!2e077d73@gateway/web/freenode/ip.46.7.125.115 quit with message: [Client Quit]



I checked that IP and it's in Dublin. Anyone know if MDG is in Dublin? Even if he is, it could have just been someone on a proxy.

Radiobuzz wrote:User modman said here that mdg said so on IRC, however I have just logon to the chat (assuming is on EFnet) and 'mdg' is not password protected so it is probably just a fake. Sorry!


It's not on efnet, it's on freenode.


Edit: oh derp modman already gave a log

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 3:06 am
by modman
Ender wrote:Here's the log:

[19:35:02] mdg!2e077d73@gateway/web/freenode/ip.46.7.125.115 joined
<mdg> [19:35:31] http://www.bunker.org.uk
[19:35:51] mdg!2e077d73@gateway/web/freenode/ip.46.7.125.115 quit with message: [Client Quit]



I checked that IP and it's in Dublin. Anyone know if MDG is in Dublin? Even if he is, it could have just been someone on a proxy.

Radiobuzz wrote:User modman said here that mdg said so on IRC, however I have just logon to the chat (assuming is on EFnet) and 'mdg' is not password protected so it is probably just a fake. Sorry!


It's not on efnet, it's on freenode.


Edit: oh derp modman already gave a log



Here's a screen shot Image

Someone had and archive site running but I don't remember the URL

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 6:50 am
by Negamuse
This is so stupid, you can appear under any name on IRC, so there's no reason to suspect that's the real MDG. The "ARG" is finished now, this is just someone who's swiped the javascript off the cosecha site and is trying to troll.

Edit: Someone, I might add, who sucks at coding. The original script takes the password you enter and passes it to "password.php" which checks the password and gives you a pass or a fail. Unlike Javascript which runs in the browser, PHP files are executed on the server and you only ever see their output, not the source behind them. This website has a password.php, but the web server isn't configured to run it, so it happily gives it to you as source code. This is a massive, and pretty dumb security mistake.

(Not that it matters, but password.php seems to be code for a terminal emulator, which I'm guessing they just nicked from somewhere. In fact, I'd go as far as to say they took the javascript off cosecha, stuck it on a website, noticed that when you type a password it complains about a missing password.php, and then googled "PHP terminal emulator" and downloaded the first bit of code they found, stuck it on their website, had no clue how to make it work and thought "meh, close enough".)

Fail.

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 7:28 am
by mdg
That is fake.

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 8:03 am
by TaoTapeTao
mdg wrote:That is fake.


thank you.

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 10:52 am
by Jinjur
mdg wrote:That is fake.


It is done

:D

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 12:46 pm
by Yellow Records
The nerve of some people...

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 1:33 pm
by DaveJ
I agree, anyone could have posted there as him, could have done so myself. Just some guy winding ye up trying to get ye back on the hunt. I think it's all done now, besides a little bit of waiting ;)

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 6:37 pm
by Fireal420
i personally. hope that none of the music is released until the album comes out.



more promotion would be cool. but i hope they dont release a single or anything until the album arrives.


in my opinion i would like for myself, and other BOC fans to hear the album as one whole complete piece of art.

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 6:46 pm
by Opothecary
Hard to believe that mdg will have been a member for 5 years, the week after TH comes out - and this is the first time there's been new material out since he registered!

I don't know what you'll do with yourself now that you won't have to say "something new is coming, I promise!" every 2 weeks brother!

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 9:46 pm
by A_Northern_Soul
Don't worry - I'm sure the questions about the next release will start up again not long after Tomorrow's Harvest is released...

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 10:00 pm
by PlacentaSand
Fireal420 wrote:i personally. hope that none of the music is released until the album comes out.



more promotion would be cool. but i hope they dont release a single or anything until the album arrives.


in my opinion i would like for myself, and other BOC fans to hear the album as one whole complete piece of art.


i... i just need one to hold me over till june, man... just a short one...